top of page

Session 4 Plenary 

Standards for substantive equivalency between CPD/CME accreditation systems 

Led by Graham McMahon (ACCME), with Hilary Hoey (RCPI), Adrian Jennings (RCP) and Reinhard Griebenow (ECSF)

The International Academy for CPD Accreditation has developed a shared set of standards to guide the accreditation of CPD/CME globally. These standards will be used to determine substantive equivalency between accrediting bodies, giving stakeholders the knowledge that the accredited education meets the same level of independence, rigor, content validity, quality of design, and outcome measures. Participants will discuss endorsement and implementation of these Standards during this session.  


After this session, participants should be able to: 

  • Assess how to use the standards to determine and recognise the substantive equivalency of CPD/CME accrediting bodies. 

  • Discuss the opportunities and challenges the Standards present for stakeholders in their systems. 

Educational materials:

Getting an Activity Accredited in Europe 

Process-oriented simulations: A gift to quality and safety

Adapting to new opportunities in medical education: from f2f to virtual  

bottom of page